Webinar: An Introduction to Antiracism for White Folks

July 14, 2020

Good morning Sisters and Brothers,

The PSAC has developed a webinar entitled “An Introduction to Antiracism for White Folks”. This webinar is aimed at all white PSAC members, but anyone who wishes to attend is welcome! 

I think this is a great initiative and I strongly encourage you to register for this webinar.

There will be sessions in English on Monday, July 20 and in French on Tuesday, July 21.

For more information, please see the PSAC’s message below

Thank you.

In Solidarity,

Marc Brière's signature

Marc Brière
UTE National President

An explanation of why the PSAC is hosting this webinar can be found here.


PSAC National Education Webinar

An Introduction to Antiracism for White Folks

A conversation between Paige Galette and Nora Loreto

Scholar and activist Angela Y. Davis has said that in a racist society, it is not enough to be non-racist. We must be antiracist.

Join activists Paige Galette and Nora Loreto for a conversation in which they address the following questions:

  • What is the difference between non-racism and anti-racism?
  • What is white people’s role in the fight against racism?

There will also be time for questions.

English: Monday, July 20 at 4PM PST / 7PM EST / 8PM ADT.

French : Tuesday, July 21 at 4PM PST / 7PM EST / 8PM ADT.

This webinar is aimed at white members but is open to anyone who’s interested in attending!

Members of other unions and those interested in the subject are also welcome to attend.

Register here: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/768130226381058574

If you’d prefer to participate in the FRENCH VERSION of this webinar go to: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4427085021296553996

About the featured speakers

Haitian, activist and feminist, Paige Galette is passionately involved in political movements fighting for social justice; the labour movement, Women’s movement, Queer movement and the Black liberation. Paige’s essay “From Cheechako to Sourdough: Reflections on Northern Living and Surviving, While Being Black” is featured in the book Until We Are Free: Reflections on Black Lives Matter in Canada (Rodney Diverlus, Sandy Hudson, Syrus Marcus Ware).

Nora Loreto is the editor of the Canadian Association of Labour Media. She is a writer and activist based in Quebec City and co-hosts the podcast Sandy and Nora Talk Politics with Sandy Hudson.